Sixth Blog – Some Real Progress

Standard

First of all, before I begin, I must take this opportunity to express my gratitude to those people who contacted me with messages of support following my last blog.

Upon reflection, I didn’t mean to make my last blog sound so dramatic (hazards of being a creative writer, I guess). It is true that I had been through a difficult time at work, but this was not meant to be the main subject of my blog.

My last blog was posted on 25th February 2014, and in the two weeks since there has been some really positive progress with a number of things. I will outline below the progress to date:

Change of Job:

I haven’t changed my job as such, but I have been given a much less stressful role (on a purely temporary basis). The new role that I am currently doing is long overdue and I feel better already. Although it is just temporary it has given me a completely new lease of life. Much of the inner stress that I was feeling (but maybe not acknowledging) has been lifted and my creative mojo has returned.

Although a cliché, it is very true that a change is as good as a rest. My working day is now far less exciting but that’s a good thing. I really believe that excitement isn’t all it is made out to be and sometimes a ‘bit of sedentary’ is a positive thing.

Poetry:

I often say that motivation comes from the strangest of places. The other weekend my wife and I decided to have an afternoon out round Salford Quays (a place that has been featured on a previous blog). We did a spot of shopping at the Lowry Outlet Mall, had a bite to eat and then had a walk round Media City.

Whilst at Media City, I thought that I’d spotted a very handsome and dashing TV star. He really did look familiar and certainly cut a fine figure. He seemed to recognise me too as he was smiling and waving at me. My wife then pointed out that it was just my reflection in a window.

Modesty aside, we decided on the spur of the moment to have a flying visit to The Imperial War Museum North. Whilst there, I saw a photograph from WW1, of a group of soldiers, carrying a man on a stretcher through thick mud. One soldier was looking at the camera and his eyes immediately struck me. I instantly saw determination, fear, anger and hopelessness in his eyes. I am not ashamed to say that this photograph moved me. I welled up and had to take a few deep breaths to compose myself.

I found it incredible (and still do) that a foreign scene from 1917 could move me in this way. It inspired me to write the poem, ‘Monochrome Soldier’. I will reproduce this poem at the end of this blog, together with the photo that inspired it. I have been given permission by the Imperial War Museum to use the photograph.

Peering Through the Mist:

No further sales of this book as of yet. I am looking at the possibility of creating this electronically also so it can be downloaded for Kindle etc. Watch this space on that one. If, in the meantime you fancy getting your hands on a copy of it, please click one of the following links:

Purchase ‘Peering Through the Mist’ from Lulu.com

Purchase ‘Peering Through the Mist’ from Amazon

Song Lyrics:

I have virtually finalised the lyrics for three songs for the Belgian rock group Frozen Rain. Just a little tweaking should have them complete. This is a good three weeks earlier than expected so very good progress made.

Their style is very much 80s rock and known as AOR  (Album Orientated Rock).

I already have three songs on their album ‘Ahead of Time’ and I am currently writing for their third album. They are thinking of naming the album after a song that I have written, but that’s some way off yet and not decided.

If anyone is interested in the Album ‘Ahead of Time’ then click here:

Purchase ‘Ahead of Time’ on Amazon

As for me writing my own music, I’m afraid that I couldn’t carry a tune in a bucket, so I don’t write the music, just the lyrics. If there are any budding musicians out there who might be interested in collaboration then drop me a line.

Children’s Stories:

I finally met up with the very talented illustrator, Lindsey Davies  last week and we discussed progress with our book, ‘The Hero of Schnool’. To say that I am thrilled with the illustrations is an understatement. We have made some major progress after what seemed like a long period of inertia. We have agreed on the layout, formatting and even the fonts to use. The book is almost complete and I genuinely believe that it is as good as anything out there on the market currently.

We are considering self-publishing electronically, but ideally we would like an agent to represent us to get a conventional publishing deal. If you are an agent, looking for that next big thing please get in touch with me or Lindsey.

I have also written a number of other stories but we have decided just to concentrate our efforts at this stage on ‘The Hero of Schnool’. That said, if an agent were to show interest in any of my stories as they stand (without accompanying illustrations) then I would be happy to push forward with these also. At the moment, however, it is a matter of little steps.

My stories so far are as follows:

Hero of Schnool:

The story of a snappy crocodile who just wants friends, but no one trusts him. That is, until he rescues some creatures in the swamp and becomes a hero.

When Snufflewakka Came to Town:

The story of the very huge and clumsy Snufflewakka. His visit to a local town causes chaos and panic amongst the locals and the authorities. A tale where local children are the heroes.

The Rainbow of Billingbob:

A story of a rainbow which paints all the children of a village different colours. Despite their differences, the children eventually learn to play together. This story has a serious underlying message of valuing diversity.

The Withered Witch and the Cobweb Stew:

The story of a witch who grows a large hump on her back. She visits the witch doctor to discover that the cause is something very silly indeed.

The Withered Witch Goes Back to School:

The withered witch returns and goes back to her old school. She soon becomes popular with the youngsters there and uses her age and wisdom to win everyone over.

Ronnie Rhino’s Dance:

A simple tale of a rhino who just wants to dance. The tale visits many other animals and their excuses not to join him.

The Snotty Grotty:

A humorous tale of how the common cold spreads from one strange creature to another, even infecting the local doctor.

It’s Good to be a Child:

A little girl wants to be grown up, but when her wish is granted by a mischievous fairy she soon realises that being a grown up is no fun at all.

A Dark & Dusty Place:

A story of how two children rescue Santa who is stuck in their chimney.

Too Cold to Play:

A little girl daydreams about an adventure where she saves the King’s horse from the nasty Nutcrack brothers and foils a plot to steal the Queen. She comes out of the daydream to realise that she might have really been in an adventure after all.

Which Witch Tricked the Switch?:

A very simple idea for younger children which encompasses a spot the difference game.

Rastafairy and the Butterflies:

Introducing Rastafairy, a Rastafarian fairy with beautiful dreadlocks. His dreadlocks are too heavy and he cannot fly, so he enlists the help of some butterflies to help carry them. This character is an idea by Lindsey Davies and the first of a number of planned books featuring him.

Finally, I wrote a story about a new character, Minty Mouse this week.

Minty Mouse and the Big Adventure:

Minty Mouse’s friends don’t want to play so she walks round alone, but gets into more than a spot of bother. Poor Minty Mouse is almost eaten by a cat (dressed as a pirate) and a falcon. She is rescued from trouble by a friendly fish and a bored bear. This is the first in a planned series of books featuring Minty Mouse.

All of the above poems are in rhyme (similar in style to Julia Donaldson or Dr. Seuss). I also have a story in prose:

Cyril – The Lion With No Roar:

A story of a sorry lion with no roar. Poor Cyril is laughed at by the children visiting the zoo and he has no sympathy from the cruel zoo owner. With the help of the kindly zoo keeper he escapes. Whilst away from the zoo he eventually learns to roar. I guess he got his mojo back, a bit like me.

Photography:

I have not been out with my camera at all of late. No doubt, I have been too busy writing. I do have photos for sale (or you can simply browse them out of curiosity) and these can be accessed by clicking here.

I am also available to help with any specific photography needs if anyone is interested. Please bear in mind that I am still learning and don’t have a raft of fancy equipment. My rates are very low as a consequence.

I earlier mentioned Salford Quays. Below are a couple of photographs of mine that I took there. Any comments would be gratefully received.

Neon on Black - Media City

339203_m-1

Speech Writing:

Not a scrap of news, I’m afraid. If you know of anyone who has to plan a speech and they are a bag of nerves, please point them in my direction. My rates are reasonable and I like to think that in most cases I can come up with something really unique and appropriate. My website can be accessed here.

Script Writing:

Last week I completed a story for a short film, which I need to turn into an actual script. It is called ‘The Conversion’ and explores the difficult subject of Islamic radicalisation. This will be a very long term project and I don’t anticipate any major movement with this just yet.

Weight Loss:

I got down to 12st 12lb last week, by diet and exercise (lots of swimming), although I have cheated a little and my weigh in this week revealed that I have put a few pounds back on. I have so far lost 19lbs so I’m doing alright.

Loft:

My loft is lonely. I haven’t visited in ages. No progress with this so far.

Progress Breakdown:

So in short I have made progress with the following:

  • New poem – Monochrome Soldier (see below):
  • Three sets of lyrics 99% complete.
  • Major progress with ‘The Hero of Schnool’.
  • New story written ‘Minty Mouse and the Big Adventure’.
  • New story written for a short film.
  • Continued weight loss.

It has been a very productive and refreshing two weeks.

To finalise this blog, as promised, please see below the poem ‘Monochrome Soldier’ plus the photograph that inspired it:

Stretcher_bearers_Passchendaele_August_1917

 ©IWM Q 5935

Photograph subject to copyright – This image cannot be subsequently used without permission from The Imperial War Museum.

Monochrome Soldier

Monochrome soldier,
With bullet eyes,
Like bayonets fixed.
Canons.

In them, I see fierce explosions,
But what lies behind?

A man of bravery.
A frightened hero,
With frightening pupils.
Living moment by precious moment,
Moment by moment on his prickly wits.

Stories to tell.
Some to haunt, never to be told.
Forever locked away. Irreversibly glued to his scarred soul.

Confusion and fear.
Stale hope cannot blot out the stain of realistic doubt.

Positively negative.
For positive thoughts cannot outweigh
The viciously hostile odds.

If he makes it today then what of tomorrow?

Makes it from this stench.
This quagmire of uncertain filth,
Knee deep in the treacle mix hybrid
Of stangant limbs,
Rats,
Horses,
Corpses.
Blood, sweat and tears have saturated this rancid potion.
Literally.

Dead eyes watch from their putrid beds.
Slain in the slew.
Still.

As he tows his gasping, lifeless friend on a harsh stretcher.  

An ambulance of beaten, unbeaten men.
Seven frightened heroes
Scrag through the black tar,
Heaving their sodden, trench bitten feet,
Laboured step after laboured step.

Each heave slowed.
Dragged by the cruel thrutch
Of rotting suction.
The swampish vomit
Hungry for more.
Swallowing.
Gulping at their feet with every tardy step.

Then belching in protest as they heft themselves free.

Only to be swallowed again and pitch on.

Each broken rhythmic effort
Moving their torpid trooper
To brittle safety.

A tableau of movement.
Contrasts.
Life and death.
Hope and hopelessness.

But those bayonet eyes,
Colourful on their monochrome canvas,
Burst.

Those eyes were long since closed,
Yet they breathe today
In magical stillness. 

His eyes move me.
They move me greater than the eyes of any lover.

They live on.
Tell a story never told.

Pierce to my core.

The monochrome man with the colourful eyes.

He doesn’t see me,
But I see him.

And I wish him
Peace.

© Copyright – Darren Lee Whitehead – 3rd March 2014

Finally, as Spring is in the air, I thought I’d share another photograph of mine. This photograph always makes me think about seizing the moment. Hope you enjoy.

Insect and Buttercup

If anyone wants to get in contact with me (to ask me questions or leave me feedback) please feel free to use the contact form here:

(The contact form doesn’t seem to work on mobiles).

Thank you all, once more, for reading. Please do keep dropping by. Tell your friends. Tell your friend’s friends. Tell your dog. You know where I’m going with this, right?

Until next time …

Leave a comment